Swallowtail Siouxsie Look

Today’s look is part yellow swallowtail part Siouxsie Sioux.  red-blue-yellow-black

A friend of mine is going to guest model for Vampid soon, and he wants to rock a dark-eyed Siouxsie Sioux look. In preparation for this future post–coming soon!–I bought some new makeup to experiment with siouxsie-siouxdoing thick black lines and shading around my eyes. In the process of such mad makeup experimentation, I came up with this look.

Because I knew getting dark Siouxsie eyes would require a lot of product, I kept it relatively cheap and picked up L’Oreal Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner. I chose this particular liner because it looked like it would give me a lot of product for my money and came with a liner brush.

First I thickly lined my top eyelids with this liner and half of the creased area above my eyelid. Then I connected and filled in the two lines I made at the outer corner of my eye. I also smoothed everything out and sealed it with black eye shadow.

bee close up 1

After using this product, trying to maintain this SSS look for the entire work day, I’d rate it a 6/10 for being just so-so liner. While it is easy to apply, doesn’t smudge too much, and stays on all day (fading just a tad), I’d prefer a creamier, more richly pigmented liner–and something more truly like black lacquer.

Also for this look I picked up some yellow eye shadow by Revlon ColorStay. I chose this brand simply because it was the only distinctly yellow eye shadow I could find in the drug store on the day I was shopping for makeup. This eye shadow came in a palette which included a gold, purple and black color.  Like the L’Oreal liner, this Revlon eye shadow is only so-so: I had to use a lot of it to get it as bright as you see in the pictures, and if I hadn’t used primer the pigment would have been even less vibrant. I also used the gold color to highlight the inner corners of my eyes.

bee eye 2

The clear star product I used for this look is the lipstick—-NYX “Indie Flick.” This color is powerful, vibrant and didn’t fade easily. I will definitely be wearing this lipstick frequently, especially as the weather gets colder and I need a nice color pick-me-up to bring at least some visual warmth and fieriness into my life.

The products I used:

bee product picture

Revlon ColorStay eye shadow in yellow, gold, and black

White NYC waterproof eyeliner (to line my waterlines)

L’Oreal Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner

NYX Matte Lipstick in “Indie Flick”

Urban Decay Primer Potion (not shown)

Make Up Forever Smoky Extravagant Mascara (not shown)

 

palette picture bee

The palette from top to bottom:

White NYC eyeliner

Gold Revlon ColorStay eye shadow

Yellow Revlon ColorStay eyeshadow

NYX “Indie Flick” Matte Lipstick

L’Oreal Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner in black

